jump to navigation

Reader-submitted smiley figure October 15, 2012

Posted by Samuel Snoek-Brown in Reader submission, Smiley, Toys.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Smiley figure at Tadpoles in Dallas, TX. Submitted by Rachael L.B. and her awesome son Clark.

Way, way back in middle school, my eighth grade year, I co-emceed the school talent show with Rachael, a girl I knew from around but not very well. She was totally cool, though (she listened to Mötley Crüe!) and we became friends. We made a great double act on stage, too — we played opposites, me the nerdy yuckster and she the cool rock-n-roll chick, and we got good laughs — but adolescence and those hazy college years being what they are, my friend and I lost track of each other until reconnecting a few years ago on Facebook.

It’s been fun reliving the old memories, but I was particularly thrilled when Rachael sent me this photo in an email the other day! “My son was checking out all these toys,” she wrote, “and I saw this one and thought of you!”

Hurray! What is it? Where is it? I was all questions.

“It was at a toy store in Dallas, I’m pretty sure named Tadpoles,” she wrote back. “Clark had asked me every day this week if we could please go to the toy store, so finally today I agreed. He was a very happy camper!”

Clark, who has good taste in toys.

Very happy indeed!

Thanks, Rachael! You’re still the cool chick. And thanks, Clark! You obviously inherited your mom’s great taste. 🙂

Comments»

1. Rachael L B - October 15, 2012

I love it!
RLB

Samuel Snoek-Brown - October 15, 2012

Cool! I love it too!

Thanks again for the pics, Rachael. 🙂

2. octonauts toy - June 7, 2013

Great post.


Leave a Reply

