jump to navigation

Singing magnet (“You Are My Sunshine”) June 21, 2012

Posted by Samuel Snoek-Brown in Kitchen & Bath, Smiley, Video.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Singing magnet (“You Are My Sunshine”). From my personal collection.

Not exactly sure where I picked this up, but I love it. When I’m in the kitchen making dinner — or breakfast, or just grabbing a snack — I like to push the “nose” on this thing. Yeah, the music is tinny and electronic and maybe a little grating, but it’s such a happy song! Makes me smile, every time. 🙂

Comments»

1. Brenda - January 23, 2013

Where did you get the musical smily face? I love it and wuld like one.

Thanks! Brenda

Samuel Snoek-Brown - January 23, 2013

I honestly don’t remember! I’m pretty good at tracking where the smileys come from (partly because so many come from my mother or my mother-in-law), but I have so many that the origin of this one slips my mind. I’m pretty sure it was a gift, though. Maybe.

Angie warfield - October 21, 2013

would you be willing to sell that singing smiley magnet to me?

Samuel Snoek-Brown - October 21, 2013

Well, the battery has died and the song is tortured and terrifying now (I might play it during Halloween!), though if I was brave and technical-minded enough, I could probably crack it open and replace the battery. Maybe. I’ll give it a shot and let you know.

2. Jessica - December 13, 2014

Do you know where I might be able to find one of these? I need one! It’s something special my boyfriend got from his grandmother who passed away when he was little. When he moved from new york he lost it. I’d like to get another one for him!

Samuel Snoek-Brown - December 13, 2014

A number of people have asked, and I’ve been looking, but I’ve not found one yet at a regular retail site. I assume you’ve tried ebay?

3. Alex - March 27, 2015

Seriously. I need this magnet so badly I will buy it off of you.

Samuel Snoek-Brown - March 27, 2015

I’m loathe to part with it, but what are you offering? I’ve disassembled it and the battery is easy enough to replace, but I’ve not put it back together.

Alex - April 9, 2015

How much would you like for it? Could you possibly email me?

4. Alex - March 29, 2015

Does the magnet have a name of a manufacturer or company on it?

Jon - November 1, 2016

Carol Wright had them…worth writing them.

5. Jon - November 1, 2016

Carol Wright gifts had them. If we ALL write, maybe they’ll stock them or tell us where WE can get them.

Smiley Face Magnets

They’re so happy, you’ll stick with ’em! Brightly colored plastic magnets are a wonderful way to attach notes, shopping lists, memos, recipes and photos to the ‘fridge. The large magnet plays “You Are My Sunshine” when touched. Mama: 3″ round. Babies: 1 1/2″ round. Set of 5.


Leave a Reply

