jump to navigation

BONUS: Happy birthday, Mom! February 13, 2011

Posted by Samuel Snoek-Brown in Art, Food, Holidays, Smiley.
Tags: , , , , , , , ,
trackback

Today is my mother’s birthday, which I would like to honor with an apple.

Smiley-face apple--for my mother the teacher.

See, my mother has been a teacher for well over three decades, teaching everything from pre-Kindergarten to junior high.  When I was a kid, she bought a large chalkboard for me and let me use her old gradebooks (those old faded-greenish things that looked like ledgers–if you have a schoolteacher in the family, you know the kind I mean), and I would “teach school” for my stuffed animals and, when they were old enough to play along but still young enough not to know when the run away from me, I would teach my little brother and sister, too.  I tried to cover the three Rs, but I also liked to work in history when I could (often at the expense of math).  Later, I tutored other students in high school, and by the time I graduated, I knew I wanted to follow in her footsteps and become a teacher too.

My mother is retiring from our shared profession this year, so I feel like I need to get in one last teacher-related birthday wish.  Hence, this apple.

Happy birthday, Mom!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

