jump to navigation

Jello mold November 22, 2010

Posted by Samuel Snoek-Brown in Food, Holidays, Kitchen & Bath.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Thanksgiving is almost here, which means everyone in the States is busy stocking up on canned cranberry sauce, digging out the pie plates, and dusting off the jello molds.

I adore my jello mold, but sadly, I haven’t used it yet.  I got this jello mold after I became a vegetarian, and since jello contains gelatin (a byproduct of animal slaughter), I can’t eat jello anymore.  I could, of course, track down some vegetarian gelatin alternatives, but those were hard to find in Texas and Wisconsin, the last two states I lived in.  I have a much easier time finding vegetarian ingredients, including non-gelatin substitutes, over here in the UAE, where we have a large expat population from countries with a long history of vegetarian diets (I have Dr. Oetker Vege-Gel in my cupboard right now), but the jello mold itself is back in the States, in storage.

Whenever I return to the States and unpack all my smiley gear, I’m going to have to think of other ways to use this.  Maybe as a chocolate mold–but that’s a lot of chocolate.  On the other hand, that’s a lot of chocolate!  I might have just found my solution.

When I make my chocolate smiley, expect to see a post about it.  =D

Comments»

1. Heather - November 22, 2010

Canned cranberry sauce? Nothing but homemade with fresh berries at our house.

Enjoy your giant chocolate when you get back home!

Samuel Snoek-Brown - November 23, 2010

Excellent! I love a good homemade cranberry sauce. But you have to admit: Thanksgiving just isn’t Thanksgiving without that ridged, cylindrical tube of canned sauce quivering on a plate, waiting to get sliced with a butter knife. 🙂

2. Plastic pouch « Smile! - August 5, 2011

[…] for a while, you might think this happy bag looks familiar. That’s because it once held the smiley jello mold I posted about last November. But this little drawstring pouch is plenty of fun all on its own, so […]


Leave a Reply

