jump to navigation

Duct tape smiley November 1, 2010

Posted by Samuel Snoek-Brown in Art, Office.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

 

Duct tape smiley. My own art. Duct tape on paper.

This week is my dad’s birthday.

In my family, we have a grand tradition of giving each other gag gifts, presents that serve not only as genuine gifts but also as jokes–often inside jokes.

My dad, a jokester himself, has an ironic history with these gag gifts:  he often takes them seriously.  One year, for instance, we all conspired to give my dad a book about how to fix everything (and I mean everything) with duct tape.

Handle on your briefcase broken?  Duct tape!  Door falling off your refrigerator?  Duct tape!  Huge crack in your windshield?  Duct tape!

It was a gentle joke on my dad’s sometimes improvisational method of household repairs.  In response, though, my dad read the book with relish and promptly began fixing more things with duct tape.  It was in the book, after all!

Honestly, I think this was more of a prank on us all, his way of getting us back for the gag gift.  But he did seem to enjoy working with duct tape an awful lot….

So Dad, on your birthday:  Need a smile?  Duct tape!

Comments»

1. i0l - November 4, 2010

what a great way to celebrate birthdays …. so unique and funny! Glad that you have a family that all shares the same sense of humor!!

i0lan…

Samuel Snoek-Brown - November 4, 2010

Thanks! For the record, I spoke to my dad on his birthday, and he loved the duct tape smiley. 🙂

2. BONUS: Reader-submitted smiley car « Smile! - July 24, 2011

[…] father — of the popular duct tape smiley* — spotted this happy little car in a Walmart parking lot down in Texas and snapped this pic […]


Leave a Reply

