jump to navigation

:) August 19, 2010

Posted by Samuel Snoek-Brown in Smiley, Uncategorized, Web smileys.
Tags: ,
trackback

WordPress loves smileys, too! To be honest, this is one reason I chose to start blogging here.

I’m Sam Snoek-Brown, and I love smiley faces.

If that sounds like a confession of some sort, I suppose it is.  My wife calls my mother-in-law (who kindly supplies me with the majority of my smiley face collection) my “enabler,” so clearly it’s a kind of sickness.

But it’s a delightful sickness, one based on the appreciation of happiness.  Better still, smiles are contagious, and my passion for smiley faces is also rooted in my compassion for others–I want to spread smiles everywhere.

So, this blog.

My goal is to post twice a week, on Mondays and Thursdays, a different smiley face each post.  This is both easier and harder than it sounds.  Finding smiley faces is the easy part–they’re everywhere, a proliferation for which I am always grateful!  But I want each smiley to be unique, which isn’t going to be easy at all.  The smiley, as an icon, has only so many variations, after all–deviate too far from the recognizable shape and it no longer serves its function.  But that simplicity of design is one of the greatest thing about smileys:  You can put them on anything!  I own dozens and dozens of objects bearing the smiley face or designed in the shape of a smiley face, and objects like these (my own and others I find) will make for the bulk of the posts.  But the smiley is also popular art, so in addition to smileys I’ve created in some unconventional places, I’ll also be posting smiley faces I find in public, too.  And every now and then, I find a smiley in nature–a splotch on a rock, a twist in some tree bark, the drape of a chain lock or some debris in the street that happens to form a little bit of happiness in the world.  So I’ll post those too.

But I don’t want to have all the fun.  The point of all this is to share the smiles, and I’m just as happy to receive as to give.  So please, if you’ve bought, made, or seen some smileys you want to share with me, send them along.  I’m always happy to see more smileys!

Comments»

1. Shameless plug for a friend alert « To Be An Electric Telegraph - August 19, 2010

[…] new blog devoted to smiley faces.  His first post and explanation of his smiley face obsession is here.  So now you have smiley faces to look forward to on Mondays and Thursdays. Posted in […]

2. Balloon « Smile! - August 19, 2011

[…] week is my birthday (and the first anniversary of this blog!), and I, too, have a yellow balloon. But I’m Uncle Smiley, so my yellow balloon has a face. […]


Leave a Reply

