jump to navigation

The snack that smiles back! December 5, 2011

Posted by Samuel Snoek-Brown in Food, Kitchen & Bath, Smiley.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

When I was a kid, I always enjoyed giving gifts to my teachers at the holidays because my mother was a teacher and I marveled at the piles of small gifts she brought home each Christmas and each summer. But grade school kids are cool about that. College kids aren’t always so thoughtful, and when I began teaching college I certainly didn’t expect to receive gifts myself. But sure enough, once in a while a student will get generous and bring me a Christmas card or a coffee mug or flag from his home country.

Today, I got a giant Goldfish cracker.

Goldfish cracker container. New to my personal collection!

A few weeks ago I caught a student nibbling Goldfish in class. I don’t mind food in the classroom, but I mock-scolded her for not sharing her crackers with me. I wound up revealing to the whole class that I love Goldfish crackers, partly because they’re addictively (and probably unhealthily) delicious, and partly because I love smiley faces. Plus, I take a macabre pleasure in their bizarre slogan, “The snack that smiles back — until you bite their heads off.”

One of my students remembered that conversation and today, after she finished her final exam, she gave me this Goldfish snack container and a couple of tiny boxes of Goldfish crackers!

Goldfish cracker container (opened). New to my personal collection!

Thanks, my student, for thinking of me! That was genuinely awesome. :)

Comments»

1. aakash1993 - December 5, 2011

funny cracker! it really made me smile ;)

also check out my ‘maggi’ video!

Samuel Snoek-Brown - December 5, 2011

Thanks for the comment, Akash! :)

2. sue - December 6, 2011

It’s lovwely to have things in your collection that have a story behind them, isn’t it? Makes them all the more unique :-)
:-) sue :-)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 501 other followers

